Sarah Boyack of Scottish Labour has lodged the following motion, Motion S4M-02764 in Holyrood today

That the Parliament congratulates the organisers of the Pedal on Parliament demonstration that took place on 28 April 2012; understands that over 3,000 cyclists from across Scotland took part in the event and that this number exceeded the organisers’ expectations; notes that they cycled from the Meadows in Edinburgh to the Parliament in support of the Pedal on Parliament manifesto; notes that the campaign aims to improve the provision of facilities for cyclists, encourages safe cycling and lobbies for a greater integration of the needs of cyclists into wider transport, infrastructure and planning policies; welcomes the Scottish Government’s commitment to ensure that 10% of all journeys are made by bike by 2020, but considers that, as it is estimated that only 1% of journeys are made by bike at present, a step-change is required, and believes that sustained investment is needed nationally and locally to meet the 2020 target.

We would certainly agree – particularly with the point that sustained investment is needed nationally and locally (and that reminds us – don’t forget to vote tomorrow!). So far it has been supported by Drew Smith (Lab, Glasgow), Jackie Baillie (Lab, Dumbarton), James Kelly (Lab, Rutherglen), Anne McTaggart (Lab, Glasgow), Tavish Scott (Lib Dem, Shetland), Kezia Dugdale (Lab, Lothian), Claire Baker (Lab, Mid-Scotland and Fife), Elaine Murray (Lab, Dumfreisshire), Hanzala Malik (Lab, Glasgow), Helen Eadie (Lab, Cowdenbeath) and Malcolm Chisholm (Lab, Edinburgh N & Leith) – mostly Labour, as befits a Labour motion but we see no reason why it couldn’t gain more significant cross-party support over time. After all, we don’t think cycling should be a party-political issue.

Another Motion: Congratulations to Pedal on Parliament